The Rotten Lemon of Enlightenment


Creative Project #007

I got some feedback from the class and Mark yesterday in regards to my creative project. I have been bouncing between two different concepts for a while now and not really making much progress. I really liked Nina‘s suggestion of somehow combining the two together. So will be looking at ways to animate the right side of the face to illustrate my creative self. Will start revising the various class handouts and worksheets for inspiration. Finally feels like I have direction again! I have discovered over the course of this unit that being able to bounce ideas around with others is an integral part of my creative process. I need immediate feedback to help my ‘flow’ get moving again when it starts to get stagnate.
 
With all this in mind I wanted to take my project away from standard photography portraits. So the series of portraits was scraped for one self-portrait that was taken two years ago. This I feel takes away the importance of the photo itself in the work. I also really wanted to push my technical skills with this project so decided it was time to finally give my drawing tablet a proper workout. Being a Visual Arts major I wanted the look and feel of the visual arts but the ease of working with digital media. Will also come in handy with the animation side of things I hope.
 
Here is the process I took to turn my photo into a “painting” without actually painting. Early stages so may rework it depending were I decide to go from here.
 
As always feedback is welcome and appreciated. Enjoy!
null

Original image

null

Getting the base colours down

null

Using a brush tool

null

Black background

null

Finished(?) left side

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

